Literature Awards nominations open

The 2014 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature is one of the country’s richest literary prizes with a $165,000 prize pool.

Nominations are open for prestigious biennial competition, which features six national awards including the $25,000 Premier’s Award. Previous Premier’s Award winners include esteemed names such as Peter Carey, Tim Flannery, Robert Drewe and Dorothy Porter. The 2012 winner of this award was Kim Scott for his novel That Deadman Dance.

Aside from the six national awards there are two awards and three fellowships for South Australian writers. These include the inaugural $15,000 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers’ Fellowship and the Max Fatchen Fellowship for writers for young people, which has been renamed in honour of the late writer and columnist Max Fatchen.

National Awards

Children’s Literature Award ($15,000)

Fiction Award ($15,000) 

John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000) 

Non-Fiction Award ($15,000) 

Young Adult Fiction Award ($15,000)

Premier’s Award ($25,000) (This award recognises the best published book among all the awards presented)


South Australian Awards

Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award ($10,000)

Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award ($10,000)

Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship ($15,000) 

Max Fatchen Fellowship ($15,000)

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers’ Fellowship ($15,000)


Entries close at 5pm on Friday, June 28

For more information and eligibility guidelines head to



Related Content