Nick Cave to open up with ‘Conversations’ solo tour

Nick Cave will return to Australia in early 2019 for a solo tour that promises a mix of music and open conversation.

Following similarly styled tours in the United States and Ireland, Cave will open the floor to audience members to take questions in an “unfiltered, unscripted and unmoderated” exchange. Although Cave’s onstage dialogues are reliably entertaining, these intimate dates promise fans a rare opportunity to penetrate the Australian legend’s mystique. And, perhaps inevitably, grill him with long-held questions about obscure cuts from his deep back catalogue.

Cave will also take to the piano to perform material from that very weighty songbook, another rarity in itself – Cave’s most recent solo-billed concerts in Adelaide have usually included at least a handful of Bad Seeds in tow.

“I thought that a direct conversation with the audience might be valuable,” Cave says of the format, “in the recent live shows we have all shown a kind of willingness to open up.”

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds’ last album Skeleton Tree was released in 2016, with companion film One More Time With Feeling offering a stark and unprecedented insight into Cave’s personal life and creative process.

Nick Cave 2019 Australian Tour Dates

Wangaratta
Saturday, January 5
Performing Arts Centre
Tickets

Hobart
Sunday, January 6
Odeon Theatre
Tickets

Sydney
Tuesday, January 8
Sydney Opera House
Tickets

Gold Coast
Friday, January 11
HOTA
Tickets

Brisbane
Saturday, January 12
Brisbane City Hall
Tickets

Wellington
Tuesday, January 15
Michael Fowler Centre
Tickets

Auckland
Thursday, January 17
Auckland Town Hall
Tickets

Melbourne
Saturday, January 19
Melbourne Town Hall
Tickets

Adelaide
Tuesday, January 22
Adelaide Town Hall
Tickets

Perth
Wednesday, January 23
Perth Concert Hall
Tickets

Main image:
Gosha Rubchinsky

Adelaide In-depth

Get the latest stories, insights and exclusive giveaways delivered straight to your inbox every week.