Current Issue #488

Tchaikovsky’s Daydreams - Master Series 3

Dates 23–24 April 2020
Time 6:30 pm
Venue Adelaide Town Hall Directions
Cost From $70
Buy Tickets
Update: Due to ongoing COVID-19 restrictions, this performance has been cancelled.

It’s been called the concerto in which Mozart truly became Mozart. The composer turned 21 and turned out his Ninth Piano Concerto at around the same time, and the musical result is a miracle of effortless elegance and deep sincerity.

The ever-popular French pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet makes a welcome return to Adelaide with this ‘coming-of-age’ concerto. Tchaikovsky’s seldom-heard First Symphony more than lives up to its tantalising subtitle, Winter Daydreams.

Written by a determined young man in his mid-twenties, this work heralded the beginning of a uniquely Russian symphonic tradition. It has all the hallmarks of Tchaikovsky’s best-loved music: memorable melodies, Russian melancholy, an enchanting waltz and an extravagant finale.
Rossini’s attention-grabbing overture to William Tell makes a fitting introduction to these two youthful masterpieces.

Show More

Never miss an event! Get our Event Guide in your inbox

Never miss an event! Get our Event Guide in your inbox