Current Issue #488

Indie-Con Australia brings independent music world to Adelaide

Indie-Con Australia brings independent music world to Adelaide

Some of the biggest names in Australian independent music will gather in Adelaide alongside international guests for the return of the Indie-Con Australia conference, which will run alongside AIR Independent Music Awards and the mini-festival Scouted as part of Umbrella: Winter City Sounds.

Indie-Con will focus on issues concerning independent music including streaming and industry action. International speakers include Bratmobile co-founder Molly Neuman, Justin West (Secret City Records), Portia Sabin (Kill Rock Stars) and Vincent Fenice (PIAS). Australian speakers include Hoodoo Gurus’ Dave Faulkner and his manager Michael McMartin — who will present the closing keynote speech — Dom Alessio and Adalita.

“We have one of the strongest most vibrant indie sectors in the world,” conference programmer Stu Watters said in a press release. “Gatherings like Indie-Con are designed to help make our sector and the industry more broadly a better place to do business, putting our artists at the centre of the conversation.”

The full list of speakers is below. The conference will be held at The Hindley on Thursday, July 26 and Friday, July 27. It will run alongside the AIR Awards, which will be staged at the Queen’s Theatre on Thursday, July 26. The AIR Awards reward the best of Australian independent music with awards including Best Independent Artist, Best Independent Album and Breakthrough Independent Album. Nominees for Best Independent Artist are: Alex Lahey, Baker Boy, Jen Cloher, Stella Donnelly and The Jungle Giants.

Another music event happening on Friday, July 27 is Scouted, which features 16 unsigned local artists at four venues in Adelaide’s west end: Jive, Rocket Bar, West Oak Hotel and Nexus Arts. Artists include: Strict Face, Naomi Keyte, Fair Maiden and Ollie English.

Tickets for Scouted are $20+bf from

For the Indie-Con conference, AIR Members will receive invitations but there are a limited number of tickets available for non-members via Moshtix.


Molly Neuman (Songtrust), Charles Caldas (Merlin), Charlie Phillips (WIN), Edward Ginis (OpenPlay), Erik Gilbert (Entertainment Intelligence), Greg Delaney (Entertainment Intelligence), Justin West (Secret City Records), Portia Sabin (Kill Rock Stars), Richard Burgess (A2IM), Vincent Fenice (PIAS), Adalita (Artist), Alicia Sbrugnera (Spotify), Amanda Vitartas (Hysterical Records), Andy Mak(Writer/Producer), Anthony Zaccaria (Bolster), Ben O’Connor (Chapter Music), Blake Rayner (The Orchard), Bonnie Dalton (Custom Made), Chris Bosma (Poolside Records/The Smith Street Band), Chris O’Neill (APRA AMCOS), Damian Rinaldi (Sonic Lawyers), Dave Faulkner (Hoodoo Gurus), Dean Ormston (APRAAMCOS), Deb Suckling (Sugar Rush Records), Dom Alessio (Sounds Australia), Ellen Kirk (Barely Dressed Records), Emma Bosworth (Green Music Australia), Eoin McCarthy (Hydric Media), Gerry McKenna (Whitesky), Glenn Dickie (Sounds Australia), Grace Kindellan (Hysterical Records), Greg Carey (Grow Yourself Up), Guy Blackman (Chapter Music), Harvey Saward (Remote Control Records), Henry Compton (The Orchard), Jane Slingo (Young Strangers), Jay Mogis (QUT), Lars Brandle (Industry Observer), Leanne de Souza (AAM), Linda Bosidis (Mushroom Publishing), Lisa Bishop (Music SA), Lynne Small (PPCA), Mardi Caught (Annex), Matt Tanner (Native Tongue Publishing), Matthew Lymbury (Nightlife Music), Matthew Rogers (Unified Music Group), Merida Sussex (Stolen Recordings), Michael McMartin (Melody Management), Millie Millgate (Sounds Australia), Paddy McHugh (Artist), Paige X. Cho (Bolster), Phil Brown (Nightlife Music), Rachel Kelly (Downtown Publishing), Steve Cross (Remote Control Records), Susan Cotchin (IRR Music), Tom Mee (Spotify) and more to be announced.

Get the latest from The Adelaide Review in your inbox

Get the latest from The Adelaide Review in your inbox