Current Issue #488

South Australian Music Awards Winners Announced

South Australian Music Awards Winners Announced

After last year’s awards were dominated by hip hop artists A.B. Original, Tkay Maidza and Dyspora, the 2018 South Australian Music Awards marked a return to rock and roll.

The ceremony was hosted by Double J presenter Zan Rowe, and gritty local rock outfit West Thebarton were the big winners with four awards. The seven-piece outfit, which features four guitarists, won awards for Best Group, Best Song for Bible Camp, Best Release for their debut album Different Beings Being Different and the People’s Choice Award for the Best Rock Artist.

Best Solo Artist went to MANE while A.B. Original once again took out the Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist.

In one of the most crowded categories, A Day Of Clarity claimed Best Event/ Festival, while the Crown & Anchor took home the award for Best Music Venue. Jive owner Tam Boakes was recognised with the Music SA Lifetime Achievement Award for her tireless promotion of live music at the much-loved West End venue.

See the full list of awards below

Best Song
Presented by APRA AMCOS
West Thebarton – Bible Camp

Best New Artist
Adrian Eagle

Best Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Artist
Presented by Nexus Arts
A.B. Original

Best Group
West Thebarton

 Best Solo Artist

Best Release
Presented by The Music
West Thebarton – Different Beings Being Different


Best Studio
Ghostnote Recording Studio

Best Engineer
Mario Spate

Best Music Festival / Event
Presented by Moshtix
A Day of Clarity (Clarity Records)

Best Music Venue
Presented by AHA (SA Branch)
Crown & Anchor Hotel

Best Manager
Presented by Dept. for Industry and Skills
Craig Lock

Best Cover Art
Presented by VERSION • Design + Brand + Digital
Neon Tetra (Jack Fenby)

Best Music Video
Presented by Channel 9
Mallrat – Better – (Rory Pippan – Young Black Youth)


UNESCO International Collaboration Award
Presented by UNESCO: City of Music
Zephyr Quartet

Music SA Lifetime Achievement Award
Presented by Music SA
Tam Boakes

Ryan Freemen Live Music Achievement Award
Presented by Roger Freemen
Max Savage


Blues & Roots Artist
Presented by The Gov
Ollie English

Country Artist
Presented by The Grace Emily Hotel
The Heggarties

Electronic Artist
Presented by Fresh 92.7

Experimental Artist
Presented by Ghostnote Studios
Abbey Howlett

Folk Artist
Presented by Wheatsheaf Hotel
Laura Hill

Heavy Artist
Presented by Underground Records
Dirty Pagans & Hidden Intent

Hip Hop Artist
Presented by Northern Sound System
Tkay Maidza

Jazz Artist
Presented by Elder Con
Adam Page

Pop Artist
Presented by Fat Controller
Heaps Good Friends

Punk Artist
Presented by Three D Radio
Young Offenders

Rock Artist
Presented by Crown and Anchor Hotel
West Thebarton

World Music Artist
Presented by WOMADelaide
The Coconut Kids

Get the latest from The Adelaide Review in your inbox

Get the latest from The Adelaide Review in your inbox