Calexico announce national tour

WOMADelaide favourites Calexico will return to Adelaide for their first tour in three years.

Touring behind the release of their ninth studio album, The Thread That Keeps Us, Calexico will bring their Southwest desert noir to Adelaide as part of an extensive national tour. The core duo of Joey Burns and John Convertino will be joined by a band that conjures sounds from the border country and beyond, blending tex-mex with cumbia, fado, jazz and indie rock.

The group, who have made multiple appearances at WOMADelaide over the years, are known for the vivid imagery that their music conjures. The Thread That Keeps Us also promises to be the band’s most overtly political record.

Tickets for the tour go on sale on Friday, November 9.

Calexico 2019 Tour Dates

Perth
Tuesday, January 15
Rosemount Hotel
Tickets

Adelaide
Thursday, January 17
Governor Hindmarsh Hotel
Tickets

Edge Hill, QLD
Saturday January 19
Tanks Arts Centre
Tickets

Byron Bay
Sunday, January 20
Byron Community Centre and Byron Theatre
Tickets 

Brisbane
Monday, January 21
The Triffid
Tickets

Sydney
Tuesday, January 22
The Factory Theatre
Tickets

Melbourne
Thursday, January 24
Melbourne Recital Centre
Tickets

Melbourne
Friday, January 25
Melbourne Recital Centre
Tickets

Hobart
Saturday, January 26
Odeon Theatre
Tickets

Castlemaine
Sunday, January 27
Theatre Royal
Tickets 

Header image:
Chris Hinkle

Adelaide In-depth

Get the latest stories, insights and exclusive giveaways delivered straight to your inbox every week.