Nominations open for new and improved Ruby Awards

Changes have been made to South Australia’s annual awards for the arts, the Ruby Awards, with a more inclusive list of 12 categories to recognise this state’s finest creatives as well as the best events held within our state border.

The annual awards, now in their 13th year, include new gongs for festivals, young artists (Best Work, Event or Project for Young People) and Indigenous artists (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Award) as well as a Made in Adelaide Award, which recognises outstanding artistic and cultural achievement outside the state for a local individual or organisation.

Last year’s winners included the Adelaide Festival for Best Festival and Saul for Best Show while Arts Projects Australia’s Ian Scobie won the Premier’s Award for Lifetime Achievement and Alysha Herrmann (Carclew and Country Arts SA) won the Geoff Crowhurst Memorial Award.

Nominations for this year’s awards close Monday, September 10. The awards will be announced on Saturday, December 1 at the Queen’s Theatre. Winners receive a ruby-coloured glasswork crafted by JamFactory.

Nominations can be made via

The 2018 Ruby Award categories are:

  • Best Festival
  • Best Work or Event Within a Festival
  • Best Work or Event Outside a Festival
  • Best Work, Event or Project for Young People
  • Best Regional or Community Event or Project
  • Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Organisation or Group
  • Made in Adelaide Award
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander (ATSI) Award
  • Young Achiever Award
  • People’s Choice Award
  • Geoff Crowhurst Memorial Award
  • Premier’s Award for Lifetime Achievement

Adelaide In-depth

Get the latest stories, insights and exclusive giveaways delivered straight to your inbox every week.